TopicsGeneral Topics4 Dham Name – List of All Char Dham Names

4 Dham Name – List of All Char Dham Names

All 4 Dham Name

The term Char Dham means ‘four abodes’ and refers to four sacred pilgrimage sites in India highly revered by Hindus. 4 Dham name are Badrinath, Dwarka, Puri, and Rameswaram. However, Char Dham can also mean the four abodes in the Himalayas, which are Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri, and Yamunotri. Hindus believe it’s essential to visit these four sites at least once in their lifetime. This pilgrimage is a Hindu tradition with significant religious importance.

    Fill Out the Form for Expert Academic Guidance!


    Live ClassesBooksTest SeriesSelf Learning

    Verify OTP Code (required)

    I agree to the terms and conditions and privacy policy.

    Each of these sites has its unique religious and cultural significance, attracting thousands of pilgrims every year, despite the challenging terrain. The pilgrimage usually starts from Puri in the east and goes clockwise, following a sacred path in Hindu tradition. The Char Dham pilgrimage is a profoundly spiritual and culturally enriching experience for devotees seeking blessings and purification.

    History of All 4 Dham in India

    Originally, the term “Char Dham” referred to a sacred journey that included four important temples in India: Puri, Rameswaram, Dwarka, and Badrinath. These temples were located at the four cardinal points of the Indian subcontinent. This sacred pilgrimage circuit was established by the renowned 8th-century reformer and philosopher, Adi Shankara.

    The 4 Dham name are Kedarnath, Badrinath, Gangotri, and Yamunotri. Adi Shankaracharya is credited with founding these sacred sites. Pilgrims believe that visiting these temples is a way to attain spiritual liberation, known as “moksha.”

    The Char Dham Yatra in Uttarakhand holds great significance for devout Hindus. The Indian government and the Uttarakhand state government have worked to improve infrastructure and facilities for pilgrims, ensuring that the dreams of devout Hindus are supported and maintained.

    4 Dham Yatra Name

    The Char Dham Yatra, also known as Chota Char Dham name, involves a pilgrimage to four important temples located in the Himalayan region of Uttarakhand, India. These temples include:

    1. Yamunotri: Situated in the Garhwal Himalayas, Yamunotri is the first destination on the Char Dham Yatra.
    2. Gangotri: Another significant temple in the Garhwal Himalayas, Gangotri is dedicated to Goddess Ganga.
    3. Kedarnath: This famous temple is located in the Himalayas and is considered one of the holiest places in Hinduism.
    4. Badrinath: Badrinath is a sacred town in the Chamoli district of Uttarakhand, dedicated to Lord Vishnu, and it is situated at an elevation of 10,279 feet.

    Visiting these four temples is believed to bring spiritual enlightenment and blessings to devotees who undertake the Char Dham Yatra. This journey is seen as a path to attain moksha, which means liberation or salvation, and is a common practice among Hindus worldwide.

    The Bada Char Dham Yatra, also known as the Char Dham Yatra, is a sacred journey for Hindus where they visit four important temples in India. These temples are:

    1. Badrinath: It’s in the Chamoli district of Uttarakhand and dedicated to Lord Vishnu. It’s situated at a high altitude of 10,279 feet.
    2. Dwarka: This temple is in Gujarat and is believed to be the kingdom of Lord Krishna.
    3. Puri: Puri is a city in Odisha and is one of the four Vaishnava sites in the Char Dham.
    4. Rameswaram: Located in Tamil Nadu, Rameswaram gained importance in ancient times when Lord Rama built a Shiva-Lingam here to worship and seek blessings from Lord Shiva.

    The Bada Char Dham Yatra holds great significance for Hindus and is believed to bring spiritual enlightenment and blessings to those who undertake this sacred journey. It’s deeply rooted in history and is considered a path to achieve moksha, which means liberation or salvation.

    4 Dham in India

    The four sacred pilgrimage sites in India, known as the Char Dham, are:

    1. Badrinath in Uttarakhand, dedicated to Lord Vishnu.
    2. Rameswaram in Tamil Nadu, dedicated to Lord Shiva.
    3. Dwarka in Gujarat, dedicated to Lord Krishna.
    4. Puri in Odisha, dedicated to Lord Jagannath.

    4 Dham Name With State

    The Char Dham pilgrimage sites in India are:

    1. Badrinath (Uttarakhand)
    2. Dwarka (Gujarat)
    3. Puri (Odisha)
    4. Rameswaram (Tamil Nadu)

    4 Dham Name and Place

    Here are the 4 Dham name and location which includes chota char dham and bada char dham:

    Chota Char Dham Name Location
    Yamunotri Uttarkashi District, Uttarakhand
    Gangotri Uttarkashi District, Gujarat
    Kedarnath Rudraprayag District, Uttarakhand
    Badrinath Chamoli District, Uttarakhand

    here are the Bada 4 Dham Yatra name list with their location

    Bada Char Dham Name Location
    Badrinath Uttarakhand
    Dwarka Gujarat
    Puri Odisha
    Rameswaram Tamil Nadu

    4 Dham Name in Hindi

    Here the char dham name list in Hindi:

    • बद्रीनाथ
    • द्वारका
    • पुरी
    • रामेश्वरम

    Frequently Asked Questions on 4 Dham Name

    What is the sequence of the 4 Dham?

    The sequence of the Char Dham Yatra is Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath, and Badrinath.

    Why is 4 Dham famous?

    The Char Dham is famous for being highly sacred in Hinduism, and it is believed that visiting these four holy sites aids in achieving moksha (salvation).

    Which God is in 4 Dham?

    The four Dhams are dedicated to different Hindu deities. Badrinath is dedicated to Lord Vishnu, Dwarka to Lord Krishna, Puri to Lord Jagannath, and Rameswaram to Lord Shiva.

    Who founded 4 Dham?

    The Char Dham is defined by Adi Shankaracharya and consists of four Vaishnavite pilgrimages.

    Is Rameshwaram a Dham or jyotirlinga?

    Rameshwaram is both a Dham and one of the twelve Jyotirlinga temples dedicated to Lord Shiva.

    Chat on WhatsApp Call Infinity Learn

      Talk to our academic expert!


      Live ClassesBooksTest SeriesSelf Learning

      Verify OTP Code (required)

      I agree to the terms and conditions and privacy policy.