TopicsGeneral TopicsArabic Month Names

Arabic Month Names

    Fill Out the Form for Expert Academic Guidance!


    Live ClassesBooksTest SeriesSelf Learning

    Verify OTP Code (required)

    I agree to the terms and conditions and privacy policy.

    Islamic Months Name in Arabic

    1. Muharram (مُحَرَّم): The first month, meaning “forbidden,” as fighting is prohibited.
    2. Safar (صَفَر): The second month, meaning “void,” as homes were often empty during this time.
    3. Rabi’ al-Awwal (رَبِيعُ الأَوَّلِ): The third month, meaning “the first spring.”
    4. Rabi’ al-Thani (رَبِيعُ الثَّانِي): The fourth month, meaning “the second spring.”
    5. Jumada al-Awwal (جُمَادَىٰ الأُولَىٰ): The fifth month, marking the dry period.
    6. Jumada al-Thani (جُمَادَىٰ الآخِرَة): The sixth month, marking the end of the dry period.
    7. Rajab (رَجَب): The seventh month, a sacred month when fighting is prohibited.
    8. Sha’ban (شَعْبَان): The eighth month, leading into Ramadan.
    9. Ramadan (رَمَضَان): The ninth and holiest month, known for fasting.
    10. Shawwal (شَوَّال): The tenth month, marking the end of Ramadan.
    11. Dhu al-Qi’dah (ذُو القَعْدَة): The eleventh month, another sacred month.
    12. Dhu al-Hijjah (ذُو الحِجَّة): The twelfth month, during which Hajj takes place.

    Also Read: Months Name

    Arabic months names in English

    In many Arab countries, the Gregorian calendar is used concurrently with the Hijri calendar. Here are the Arabic months’ names in English and their Arabic counterparts:

    1. January (يَنايِر): Yanāyir
    2. February (فِبْرايِر): Fibrāyir
    3. March (مارِس): Māris
    4. April (أبْريل): Abreel
    5. May (مايو): Māyu
    6. June (يُونِيُو): Yūniyū
    7. July (يُولِيُو): Yūliyū
    8. August (أغُسْطُس): Aghustus
    9. September (سِبْتَمْبِر): Sibtambir
    10. October (أُكْتوبِر): Uktūbir
    11. November (نُوفَمْبِر): Nūfambir
    12. December (دِيسَمْبِر): Dīsambir

    Arabic Month Names in Order

    The Arabic months’ names in order for both the Hijri and Gregorian calendars are vital for proper scheduling and religious observances. Here is a comprehensive Arabic months name list in order:

    Hijri Calendar

    1. Muharram
    2. Safar
    3. Rabi’ al-Awwal
    4. Rabi’ al-Thani
    5. Jumada al-Awwal
    6. Jumada al-Thani
    7. Rajab
    8. Sha’ban
    9. Ramadan
    10. Shawwal
    11. Dhu al-Qi’dah
    12. Dhu al-Hijjah

    Gregorian Calendar

    1. Yanāyir (January)
    2. Fibrāyir (February)
    3. Māris (March)
    4. Abreel (April)
    5. Māyu (May)
    6. Yūniyū (June)
    7. Yūliyū (July)
    8. Aghustus (August)
    9. Sibtambir (September)
    10. Uktūbir (October)
    11. Nūfambir (November)
    12. Dīsambir (December)

    FAQs on Arabic Month Names

    What are the 12 months in Arabic?

    The 12 months in the Islamic (Hijri) calendar are Muharram, Safar, Rabi’ al-Awwal, Rabi’ al-Thani, Jumada al-Awwal, Jumada al-Thani, Rajab, Sha’ban, Ramadan, Shawwal, Dhu al-Qi’dah, and Dhu al-Hijjah.

    Why are there 12 months in the Islamic calendar?

    The Islamic calendar consists of 12 lunar months to align with the phases of the moon, making up a lunar year of approximately 354 or 355 days.

    What is the first Arabic month called?

    The first month in the Islamic calendar is called Muharram.

    How many months is Islam?

    Islam follows a lunar calendar that consists of 12 months.

    Do Islamic months have 31 days?

    No, Islamic months do not have 31 days. They have either 29 or 30 days, depending on the sighting of the moon.

    How many months in Islamic calendar?

    The Islamic calendar has 12 months.

    How many days in Islamic calendar?

    The Islamic calendar has approximately 354 or 355 days in a year, which is about 10-12 days shorter than the Gregorian calendar.

    Chat on WhatsApp Call Infinity Learn

      Talk to our academic expert!


      Live ClassesBooksTest SeriesSelf Learning

      Verify OTP Code (required)

      I agree to the terms and conditions and privacy policy.